How is The Legend of Zelda timeline arranged?

the legend of zelda breath of the wild

the legend of zelda breath of the wild

The timeline in The Legend of Zelda It is one of the most studied by its community. The developers of this franchise have explained several times that, when creating a title, chronology is not an essential element. However, the myth is immense, and after each release of a new game, it grows even more.

Fans have fantasized about the timeline of many famous video games. This usually creates entire communities, where myths and stories are created in order to continue from one game to another. But let's see today in detail: What is the order that the timeline of The Legend of Zelda follows?

Timeline in The Legend of Zelda

It is difficult to try to organize all these great titles, although today we will try to organize them in the most accurate way possible.. We will take into account the book “History of Hyrule”, made by its creators, where an attempt was made to organize all the video games in the same timeline. This is the order in which we should play (or understand) The Legend of Zelda:

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

skyward sword zelda timeline

The first of the time line, installment 16 of the Zelda saga, released in 2011. Link, after being knighted, embarks on a journey with his friend, Zelda, through the cloud barrier. On the journey, Zelda is swept away by a tornado and falls to the lands below.

After the events, Link is guided to the statue of Hylia, where he finds her sword. Fi, the spirit that inhabits the sword, informs him that Demise, the king of demons, wants to escape from his seal. Link goes to the surface and embarks on a journey in the regions of this world to rescue his friend.. Here the adventure begins in the search for Zelda, where we will meet evil forces and dangerous rivals.

The Legend of Zelda: The Minishcap

minish cap zelda

This is the twelfth video game in the series, released in 2004, and is the second in the timeline. This title focuses on the previous story of Vaati and the fourfold sword. Link is chosen by the King of Hyrule to ask the Minish for help, as Vaati has petrified Zelda.. During his journey, he rescues Ezero from a strange being that resembles a green hat with a bird's head.

He joins in the search and helps him become the size of the Minish. Link will gather the four elements to restore the Minish sword and turn it into the Quadruple Sword that is capable of destroying Vaati.

The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords

zelda four swords timeline

Four Sword, was released in 2002 and 2003. The plot revolves around the wizard Vaati who escapes from the Four Sword and captures Princess Zelda to marry her. Link uses the sword to create 3 copies of himself and rescues Zelda, trapping Vaati in the sword once again.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time


Ocarina of Time is the fifth release of the franchise, released in 1998 and the fourth in this timeline. The story focuses on Link, who Undertake an adventure in the kingdom of Hyrule to stop Ganondorf, king of the Gerudo tribe. For this he must travel through time and explore various temples to awaken some wise men. These sages have the power to permanently imprison Ganondorf.

Link's time travel that occurs at the end of the game created 3 different parallel timelines. What are these 3 timelines?

Adult Link timeline

One of the timelines continues where Link defeated Ganondorf and imprisoned him in the Sacred Kingdom.Known as adult Link timeline. The story continues with 3 titles in this timeline:

  • The Wind Waker
  • Phantom Hourglass
  • SpiritTracks

child link

This is the next branch Link after being sent back to his original time in Ocarina of Time. He warned Princess Zelda and the King of Hyrule of the tragic future that awaited the kingdom, causing another timeline. In this timeline we have 3 titles:

  • Majora's Mask
  • Twilight princess
  • Four Swords Adventures

Hero's Failure Timeline

In this timeline, the hero of time dies at the hands of Ganondorf in a decisive battle for the fate of Hyrule. Therefore, the villain finds no opposition and obtains the Triforce of courage and wisdom.

This is an alternative line to what we see in the game, as we do not get to see Link's defeat at the hands of Ganon. To save Hyrule, the 7 Sages and Zelda seal Ganondorf and the Triforce in the Dark World.. This is a timeline highly exploited by Nintendo, since We have 8 videogames in this Timeline. These are the video games based on this temporality:

  • A Link to the Past
  • Link's Awakening
  • Oracle of Ages
  • Oracle of Seasons
  • A Link between Worlds
  • Tri Force Heroes
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • The Adventure of Link

What timeline would Breath of THe Wild and Tears of the Kingdom occupy?

In this timeline, we have left out the last titles of the saga and because?

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

the legend of zelda breath of the wild

Nintendo had specified that this title was located long after the events that happened in the other games. There is a crossover of races and locations in the game's Hyrule that is impossible to place in a given time.

Breath of the Wild It has elements of Wind Waker and Twilight Princess, games that are part of parallel timelines. It is believed that the game has unified all the lines, although this has not been confirmed.

Tears of the Kingdom

The legend of zelda Tears of Kingdom

After the release of Tears of the Kingdom, it was confirmed that there is no connection with the previous deliveries. The story and lore explained in the game is part of a universe formed by Breath of the Wild and this latest installment.

Timelines are not very important when selecting a game. If for developers, the goal is to release the best possible game, for us it would be to fully enjoy it, regardless of its timeline. However, decent work consistent with the chronology is appreciated, a good timeline adds mysticism and enriches the story of a franchise.

And this has been all for today, leave me in the comments what you think of this Nintendo franchise

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *



  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.